Overcast, cold for September. There was a large cloud mass moving in last night just before sundown. It nearly looked like snow. I pray that we are not doomed to an early winter. One year of that in a lifetime is quite enough. My office is cold, but I will not start a fire this soon. I refuse it.

Classes have begun. I am teaching one section of Historical Analysis, two sections of Greco-Roman History, and one section of World Geography. They are basic courses, and I feel slighted by Dean Duncan for his unwillingness to allow me to teach older students. However, he was gracious enough to allow me to supervise the graduate students in the department again this year, even after what happened last year. I have not met with the graduates for this year, but my hopes can only be so high as to wish for some like last year’s crop. Those were impeccable students, truely insightful scholars. It was a joy to work with them.

My first class today was a near blunder. Two of the students entered the classroom quite inordinately, loudly. I silenced them, but found myself silencing them over and over throughout even the first class. This will not do. I must speak with the Department Chairman about this. Such behavior! Such language!

I have only one more class today before I am free to my research. I will be glad of that reprieve.